Canada’s Provinces Introduce New Coronavirus Travel Regulations To Limit Domestic Travel


TORONTO, April 2, 2020 . A screen with a message to contain the spread of COVID-19 is seen on … [+] Highway 401 in Toronto, Canada

Xinhua News Agency/Getty Images

Canadians have always taken unfettered inter-provincial travel for granted but that’s all starting to change in light of the continuing spread of the coronavirus. In a push to slow the growth of the pandemic, many provincial governments have started to limit provincial domestic travel. Some provinces have even taken extreme steps to impose self-quarantines or severely restrict travel even for Canadian travelers. Here’s a rundown of what each province and territory is doing in Canada to limit domestic travel.

QUEBEC CAMPGROUND coronavirus travel

Police officers stop an RV at a checkpoint on the Quebec-Ontario border in Riviere-Beaudette, … [+] Quebec, Canada

© 2020 Bloomberg Finance LP


On Wednesday, April 1, the Quebec government effectively divided Canada’s Capital Region by placing checkpoints on the border between Ottawa, Ontario and Gatineau, Quebec. The Quebec government says that the checkpoints are intended to prevent all non-essential travel into the province. According to a press release from the Gatineau police service “in order to reduce the propagation of COVID-19, Service de police de la Ville de Gatineau (SPVG) officers are being deployed to strategic entry points to restrict travel to only essential purposes.”

At the checkpoints, the police say they will “… assess on a case by case basis whether or not the travel is essential, for instance to get to work if teleworking is not an option; for medical appointments or care; or for humanitarian reasons.”

The press release also notes that fines will be imposed for those who do not obey: “Although the SPVG prefers an approach based on community persuasion, its officers are prepared to turn to more coercive measures with people who refuse to cooperate. Fines may be imposed on people who refuse to cooperate. Under the Public Health Act, the police have the option of imposing fines ranging from $1,000 to $6,000. The police maintain their usual powers, and charges laid during an intervention will have the same legal consequences (i.e. criminal offense).” For more information, visit the website here.

To block all non-essential travel into the province, the Quebec government has also set up checkpoints on major roads leading to more remote areas of Quebec, as well as at the Quebec-U.S. border.


A traveler wearing a protective mask walks through Toronto Pearson International Airport

© 2020 Bloomberg Finance LP


As of yet, Ontario has not imposed any inter-provincial travel restrictions. For more information, check out the Ontario Government website.


Manitoba is advising any domestic travelers entering the province to self-isolate for 14 days. The province is also establishing checkpoints at main highways and airports to provide guidance about COVID-19 to travelers. Read more here and here.


Currently the province has no domestic travel restrictions. The government does recommend that people self-monitor for symptoms if they have traveled outside of Saskatchewan, but within Canada. More information here and here.

U.S.-Canada border closed to non-essential travel

VANCOUVER, BC – MARCH 18 : Canadian side of the border is seen between Canada and the United States, … [+] near Seattle, Washington and Vancouver, British Columbia on March 18, 2020.

Anadolu Agency via Getty Images


No inter-provincial domestic travel restrictions. More info here.

British Columbia

No inter-provincial domestic travel restrictions. More info here.


All travelers entering the territory must self-quarantine. According to the website, “All visitors to the territory are required to self-isolate for 14 days. This includes anyone returning home from other provinces and territories by road or air, as well as Yukoners returning home by road from Alaska. We are putting mechanisms in place to monitor and ensure travelers are self-isolating.” Yukon is also advising against non-essential travel. For more information, visit this site.

North West Territories

All travel into the territory by non-residents is now prohibited with a few exceptions (such as those transporting essential goods and essential service workers). More information is available on the website.

Air Canada Temporarily Lays Off 15,000 Employees As Coronavirus Takes Toll On Airline Industry

TORONTO, ON – APRIL 01: A man sits under an Air Canada logo

Getty Images


All passenger flights in and out of Nunavik, as well as inter-community flights, have been grounded. According to the press release, “the only flights allowed are charters transporting cargo (including medical supplies and Canada Post), patients traveling for medical appointments, health care workers and other critical workers such as police officers.” More information is available here (see the April 2 press release) and here.

Prince Edward Island

The provincial website states that “anyone coming into Prince Edward Island must self-isolate for 14 days following all out of province travel, including within Canada and the US.” Exceptions include essential service workers and flight crews. Read more here and here.

Newfoundland and Labrador

All travelers entering the province must self-isolate for 14 days. More information here.

only essential industries are open as the province shut down non-essential services and industries to help slow the spread of COVID-19

A lone traveller waits for a ride. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau says that passengers will be denied … [+] boarding domestic flights if they show any symptoms of COVID-19

Toronto Star via Getty Images

Nova Scotia

Anyone entering Nova Scotia must self-isolate for 14 days. Find out more details here and here.

New Brunswick

As of March 15, 2020, anyone entering the province (aside from some exceptions like essential workers) must self-isolate for 14 days. More information is available here and here.

Continue reading at Forbes