Live Around the Planet: Friday November 15th

Today, Friday, I’ll be conducting another edition of our Clubland Q&A, live around the world at 4pm Eastern in North America – that’s 9pm Greenwich Mean Time. We’ll try to pin down the rest of the time zones below, but do, as they say, check local listings.

On today’s rundown, I’m happy to take questions on the topics I’ve been chewing over in recent days, plus a few we haven’t yet addressed – including the firing on Remembrance Day of Don Cherry from Hockey Night in Canada.

We’ll also address the state of the Democrats’ impeachment theatre after the bow-tied squib of its star witnesses – and CNN’s bizarre attempt to shanghai Kellyanne Conway into attacking her husband, MSNBC commentator Mr Kellyanne Conway. What a pitiful state Wolf Blitzer has been reduced to. No wonder he’s working airport gates. Click below to watch:

I returned later on last night’s “Tucker” with a word on the President’s rally in the somewhat alarmingly named metropolis of Bossier City, which sounds like it’s between Hectoringville and Doasyouretoldopolis. You can see that segment here:

“The president, actually, in this circumstance is standing there and saying ‘Go, bring it on’ — ‘Even if you did that I’d still run next November and I’d win next November’,” Steyn said in reference to the inquiry. “He’s inspirational to a faint-hearted Republican Party. This is the way to do it. This is why people voted for him — because your base wants a candidate that pushes back.”

Judging from cable ratings and other metrics, impeachment is energizing Republicans, not Democrats. Be that as it may, as today’s Q&A proceeds, we’ll open it up to other subjects, so feel free to fire away with whatever’s on your mind.

Incidentally, Brian Kilmeade asked me about Kellyanne and her husband earlier this year. You can hear that exchange about 19 minutes in here.

Whether or not you’re a member of The Mark Steyn Club, you can listen to our Clubland Q&A live as it happens wherever you happen to be on this turbulent earth: Club membership is required only to ask a question. We love to hear from brand new members, so if you’ve joined this month or this week do fire off a question on any topic that appeals. Indeed, if you’ve been toying with signing up, either for a full year or a see-how-it-goes experimental quarter, there’s still time to do so and shoot me a head-scratcher for today’s show – and to book your tickets for next week’s special live editions of The Mark Steyn Show in Montreal. But, if you’re not interested in joining, no worries, as they say in Oz: We seek no unwilling members – and as always the show is free, so we hope you’ll want to tune in.

As soon as we go live, members should log-in and submit their queries via our comment form below – and I’ll answer them as-it-happens on the audio livestream that should magically appear above (or possibly below – I forget which). And, if you disagree with my response, then let rip in the comments, and I’ll endeavor to address a couple of the objections as we go along.

Clubland Q&A and much of our other content is supported by members of The Mark Steyn Club. We’re not paywalling off SteynOnline or any of that nonsense – and in fact this site now offers more free content than ever before in our sixteen-year history. But Club membership does confer a few benefits, including not only participation in our Q&As but also access to this weekend’s brand new Sunday Poem and much more.

So see you back here live this afternoon at 4pm Eastern Daylight Time. That’s 5pm in the Canadian Maritimes, 5.30pm in Newfoundland – and, beyond the Americas, 9pm in London and Dublin; 10pm in Paris and Berlin; 11pm in Cairo and Jerusalem; midnight in Moscow, for Kenny Ball fans; 12.30am in Tehran, for all you Newfoundlanders who move to Iran for the half-hour time zone; 2.45am in Kathmandu, for all you Iranians who move to Nepal to check out the quarter-hour time zone; a 5am alarm call in Hong Kong and Perth; an 8am brekkie in Sydney and Melbourne; an even more convivial hour for the kippers and kedgeree in Auckland and beyond; and an eminently civilized gong of 10.45am in the Chatham Islands, my current favorite among those quarter-hour time zones.

But, whatever hour it is where you are, we do hope you’ll be able to join us. To listen to the livestream, simply click the “play” icon on the audio player (in certain browsers, the audio will start auto-playing). And to pose a question simply use the comment form below.