Live Around the Planet: Wednesday October 16th

Today, Wednesday, I’ll be conducting another edition of our Clubland Q&A, live around the world at 4pm Eastern in North America – that’s 8pm Greenwich Mean Time. We’ll try to pin down the rest of the time zones below, but do, as they say, check local listings.

On today’s rundown, I’m happy to take follow-up questions on the topics I’ve been chewing over in recent days – America as the land of permanent coup, Britain’s betrayal of Brexit, the likely survival of Canada’s Prime Minstrel… But, as the hour proceeds, we’ll open it up to a few other subjects, so feel free to fire away with whatever’s on your mind.

Whether or not you’re a member of The Mark Steyn Club, you can listen to our Clubland Q&A live as it happens wherever you happen to be on this turbulent earth: Club membership is required only to ask a question. We love to hear from brand new members, so if you’ve joined this month or this week do fire off a question on any topic that appeals. Indeed, if you’ve been toying with signing up, either for a full year or a see-how-it-goes experimental quarter, there’s still time to do so and shoot me a head-scratcher for today’s show – and to reserve your tickets for next month’s special members-only events. But, if you’re not interested in joining, no worries, as they say in Oz: We seek no unwilling members – and as always the show is free, so we hope you’ll want to tune in.

As soon as we go live, members should log-in and submit their queries via our comment form below – and I’ll answer them as-it-happens on the audio livestream that should magically appear above (or possibly below – I forget which). And, if you disagree with my response, then let rip in the comments, and I’ll endeavor to address a couple of the objections as we go along.

Clubland Q&A and much of our other content is supported by members of The Mark Steyn Club. As I always say, we’re not paywalling off SteynOnline or any of that nonsense – and in fact this site now offers more free content than ever before in our sixteen-year history: more columns, more essays, more audio, more video. But Club membership does confer a few benefits, including not only participation in our Q&As but also Tales for Our Time, Steyn’s Sunday Poems and much more.

So see you back here live this afternoon at 4pm Eastern Daylight Time. That’s 5pm in the Canadian Maritimes, 5.30pm in Tucker Carlson’s preferred fishing grounds of Labrador – and, beyond the Americas, 9pm in London and Dublin; 10pm in Paris, Berlin and Cairo; 11pm in Istanbul, Jerusalem and Moscow; 11.30pm in Tehran, for all you Newfoundlanders who move to Iran for the half-hour time zone; 1.45am in Kathmandu, for all you Iranians who move to Nepal to check out the quarter-hour time zone; a grisly 4am alarm call in Hong Kong and Perth; a 7am breakfast in Sydney and Melbourne; an even more convivial hour for the kippers and kedgeree in Auckland and beyond; and an eminently civilized gong of 9.45am in the Chatham Islands, my current favorite among those quarter-hour time zones.

But, whatever hour it is where you are, we do hope you’ll be able to join us. To listen to the livestream, simply click the “play” icon on the audio player (in certain browsers, the audio will start auto-playing). And to pose a question simply use the comment form below.