Live Around the Planet: Thursday April 29th

Today, Thursday, I’ll be conducting another edition of our Clubland Q&A, live around the world at 4pm Eastern time in North America – that’s 8pm GMT/9pm British Summer Time. We’ll try to pin down the rest of the time zones below, but do, as they say, check local listings.

On today’s rundown, I’m happy to take questions, if you insist, on Joe Biden’s address to Congress – an always pathetic ritual made even more so by the ChiCom-19 and the strange moth-eaten sock puppet giving the speech. On last night’s Tucker, it fell to yours truly to be the warm-up act for the pseudo-State of the Union. Tucker asked me about a whole new level of fawning about the “style” of the new Administration. Click above to watch. (You can see the full edition of Tucker here.)

But I’ll also take questions on the other subjects we’ve been chewing over at SteynOnline in print, audio and video these last few days. And, if those topics don’t do it for you, that’s fine and dandy: feel free to quiz me about something else entirely.

~As Joe told us, the Green New Deal is going to be implemented under cover of Covid. If you’d like to get yourself up to speed on the project, we’re now offering Marc Morano’s Green Fraud at SteynOnline (with a foreword from yours truly). Alternatively, if you want to combine both the Green New Deal and the Hockey Stick in one dynamite denialist double-bill, check out our special limited-time warm-monger twofer – A Fraud and a Disgrace.

Covid or not, the third annual Mark Steyn Cruise will be sailing the Med this autumn with my longtime Rush comrade Mr Snerdley, Conrad Black, Michele Bachmann, Douglas Murray, and many other special guests. If you’re kinda sorta semi-curious about coming along, don’t leave it too late: accommodations are going fast – and the ship itself will only be at 60 per cent capacity.

Whether or not you’re a member of The Mark Steyn Club, you can listen to our Clubland Q&A live as it happens wherever you chance to be on this turbulent earth: Club membership is required only to ask a question. We love to hear from brand new members, so if you’ve joined this week do fire off a question on any topic that appeals. Indeed, if you’ve been toying with signing up, either for a full year or a see-how-it-goes experimental quarter, there’s still time to do so and shoot me a head-scratcher for today’s show. But, if you’re not interested in joining, no worries, as they say in Oz: We seek no unwilling members – and as always the show is free, so we hope you’ll want to tune in.

As soon as we go live, members should log-in and submit their queries via our comment form below – and I’ll answer them as-it-happens on the audio livestream that should magically appear above (or possibly below – I forget which). And, if you disagree with my response, then let rip in the comments, and I’ll endeavor to address a couple of the objections as we go along.

Clubland Q&A and much of our other content is supported by members of The Mark Steyn Club. We’re not paywalling off SteynOnline or any of that nonsense – and in fact this site now offers more free content than ever before in our eighteen-year history. But Club membership does confer a few benefits, including not only participation in our Q&As but also access to Tales for Our Time, our Sunday Poems and much more.

So see you back here live this afternoon at 4pm North American Eastern Time. That’s 5pm in the Canadian Maritimes, 5.30pm in Newfoundland – and, beyond the Americas, 9pm in London and Dublin; 10pm in Paris and Berlin; 11pm in Istanbul and Jerusalem; midnight in the Trucial States, as I still think of them; 12.30am in Tehran, for all you Newfoundlanders who move to Iran for the half-hour time zone; 1.45am in Kathmandu, for all you Iranians who move to Nepal to check out the quarter-hour time zone; a grisly 4am in Singapore, Honkers and Western Australia; a 6am alarm call in Sydney and Melbourne; a somewhat more convivial hour for the kippers and kedgeree in Auckland and beyond; and an eminently civilized gong of 8.45am in the Chatham Islands, my current favorite among those quarter-hour time zones.

But, whatever hour it is where you are, we do hope you’ll be able to join us. To listen to the livestream, simply click the “play” icon on the audio player (in certain browsers, the audio will start auto-playing). And to pose a question simply use the comment form below.

Continue reading at SteynOnline