Live Around the Planet: Thursday September 16th

Today, Thursday, I’ll be conducting another edition of our Clubland Q&A, live across the globe at 11am North American Eastern/3pm Greenwich Mean Time/4pm British Summer Time. We’ll try to pin down the rest of the time zones below, but do, as they say, check local listings.

On today’s rundown, I’m happy to take questions on almost anything, from the floppo California recall and Shanghai Milley to the dispiriting Canadian election and Alberta’s U-turn on vaccine passports. Plus any news from overseas you want to raise. As you know, certain topics hold little interest, but I’ll do my best to disguise that (or not). So give it your best shot, as they say in the vaccine line. I always feel the show goes better with a broad canvas.

Whether or not you’re a member of The Mark Steyn Club, you can listen to our Clubland Q&A live as it happens wherever you chance to be on this turbulent earth: Club membership is required only to ask a question – and we always like to hear from our newbies, so if you’ve only just joined this week, do fire off an interrogatory on any topic that appeals. Indeed, if you’ve been toying with signing up, either for a full year or a see-how-it-goes experimental quarter, there’s still time to do so and shoot me a head-scratcher for today’s show. If you’re not interested in joining our club, no worries, as they say in Australia: We seek no unwilling members – and as always the show is free, so we hope you’ll want to tune in.

After our Q&A, there’s another chance to hear the latest edition of Steyn’s Song of the Week on Serenade Radio in the UK at 9pm London time – that’s 4pm North American Eastern. You can listen to the show from anywhere on the planet by clicking the button in the top right-hand corner here.

For the Q&A, As soon as we go live, Steyn Club members should log-in and submit their queries via our comment form below – and I’ll answer them as-it-happens on the audio livestream that should magically appear above (or possibly below – I forget which). And, if you disagree with my response, then let rip in the comments, and I’ll endeavor to address a couple of the objections as we go along.

Clubland Q&A is a special production for The Mark Steyn Club. We’re not paywalling off SteynOnline or any of that nonsense – and in fact this site now offers more free content than ever before in our eighteen-year history. But Club membership does confer a few benefits, including not only participation in our Q&As but also access to Tales for Our Time, our Sunday Poems and much more.

So see you back here live at 11am North American Eastern Time. That’s noon in the Canadian Maritimes, half-past-midday in Newfoundland – and, beyond the Americas, 4pm in London and Dublin; 5pm in Paris and Berlin; 6pm in Istanbul and Jerusalem; 7pm in the Trucial States, as I still think of them; and 7.30pm in Kabul, for all you Newfoundlanders who moved to Afghanistan for the half-hour time zone, and are now frantically trying to get out at the eleventh or eleven-thirtieth hour.

But, whatever time it is where you are, we do hope you’ll be able to join us. To listen to the livestream, simply click the “play” icon on the audio player (in certain browsers, the audio will start auto-playing). And to pose a question please use the comment form below.

Continue reading at SteynOnline